Departmental Scholarships

A.R. Smith Chemistry Memorial Scholarship Endowment 

The A.R. Smith Chemistry Memorial Scholarship Endowment in Chemistry provides scholarships available to undergraduate chemistry majors at Appalachian State University. The scholarships are awarded to those students who are declared chemistry majors and who have demonstrated academic excellence. Special consideration will be given to students who are actively engaged in research with a chemistry department faculty member.

Applicants must submit a typed one page statement describing career plans and goals or alternatively, a summary of research participation. A personal interview may be scheduled if the scholarship committee deems this necessary. Recipients of these awards must have, and maintain, a minimum grade point average of 2.60 in chemistry and must be making satisfactory progress toward the degree in chemistry. The Scholarship Committee will also consider the student's overall performance in making its recommendations.

Scholarships may be renewed each semester. Students must apply each semester, by making satisfactory progress and have maintained the necessary grade point average to be eligible for renewal. 

Apply at

Lloyd L. Hobbs Memorial Scholarship for the Physical Sciences

These endowed scholarships are established as a memorial to Lloyd L. Hobbs by Mrs. Ella Hobbs. Applicants must be rising juniors or seniors who demonstrate and maintain satisfactory academic progress by having a 3.0 grade point average. In addition, applicants must have a verifiable need for financial aid and must be majoring in an area of the Physical Sciences within the College of Arts and Sciences at Appalachian. The awards are directed to be renewable based upon verification of satisfactory academic progress as evidenced by maintaining a 3.0 grade point average.

Apply at

Jake Whitaker Memorial Scholarship in Chemistry

Established as a memorial to Jake Whitaker, this scholarship is for seniors majoring in Chemistry or double majoring in Chemistry and Biology, and a GPA of 3.0 or higher is required.Preference will be given to those students double majoring in both areas of Chemistry and Biology.

 Apply at

College Scholarships

Consider scholarships offered by the college. Visit the college website to see the qualifications for each scholarship offered. For more questions, contact the Dean's office at or (828) 262-3078. 

  • Sally A. Callegari Memorial Scholarship for Gender Diversity in Animal Studies
  • Drs. Joanne Smith and Don R. Brannon Scholarship for Natural Sciences
  • Richard A. Thomas Memorial Scholarship for Arts and Sciences 
  • Jonathan K. Perryman Memorial Scholarship for the Sciences
  • GlaxoSmithKline Women in Science Scholarships
  • The Peggy Harmon Shore Pre-Health Care Professional Endowed Scholarship

Outside Scholarships

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established by Congress in 1986 to honor Senator Barry M. Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the U.S. Senate. The purpose of the Foundation is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue careers in these fields.

Detailed information is available at: